This Is Just a List

I) The amount of words it took for me to fall in love.

II) These are the times I gave you my heart as a second chance to make sure you break it right.

III) Three words I grew so fond of, being that I had never heard them before.

IV) This is what your aftershocks rate by on the Richter scale, still able to bring cities to ruin.

V) Five, five times I thought I was lucky enough that you’d actually call me yours and mean it.

VI) I always wished the waves would crash at our feet one night.

VII) This was the age I started dreaming of a girl like you, seven. It’s just a myth now.

VIII) Eight times, also the age that I saw your reflection in small pools of water between rocks on the beach.

IX) Nine, the age I learned I could throw my heart at someone as a grenade and leave them amputated.

X) By ten, I stopped believing in love and started believing that no matter how long you wait, nothing good ever comes.

By Jake Muir
20 June 2014
twitter – @pieniiune

♥ Kamiz

Leave a Reply

